Home Community Christopher Jones Wins Marjorie Dykins Award

Christopher Jones Wins Marjorie Dykins Award

by Love Wrexham Magazine
Blood bikes photo - Marjorie Dykins award

Avow have announced the winner of the Marjorie Dykins OBE Volunteer Memorial Awards 2019.

The Marjorie Dykins OBE Volunteer Memorial Awards 2019, took place at the Association of Voluntary Organisations in Wrexham (AVOW), at the Christmas reception at Catrin Finch Centre, Glyndwr University.

The Mayor of Wrexham (Councillor Rob Walsh) and the High Sheriff of Clwyd, Stephanie Catherall handed out the certificates. Moreover, the winner of the individual award was Christopher Jones – Blood Bikes Wrexham. This was for his long-term dedication and commitment to supporting organisation.

The winner of the group award was the Wrexham Citizens Advice Volunteers, for their continued advice and guidance to individuals in need.

Certificates and cheques for £500 were also given to the winners for their organisations, the runners-up got highly-commended certificates.

The awards commemorate the memory of Marjorie Dykins OBE, founder member and secretary of AVOW. AVOW established the scheme following consultation with Marjorie’s family, who generously donated £5,000 towards the awards.

Finally, John Gallanders, Chief Officer of AVOW said: “We wish to thank the family of Marjorie Dykins OBE, to enable us to recognise the good work of individuals and also organisations across Wrexham County Borough. They provide invaluable support to the local community”.

For more community related articles, click here.

Related Articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More